Aarhus Cathedral
Denmark, Aarhus

Aarhus Cathedral has a long and rich history. The construction of the Cathedral in Aarhus began at the end of the 12th century on the site of the small church of St. Clement, next to the grave of St. Niels, which was revered by local residents. The cathedral was built of red brick in the Romanesque style, construction was completed in 1300. After the fire of 1330, in which the cathedral and part of the city burned down, the church was restored, but in the Gothic style. Construction was carried out from 1449 to 1500. The nave of the cathedral was enlarged to 93 meters, the transept expanded, a tower 96 meters high was built, for maximum illumination, the vault is equipped with thirteen Gothic windows. The walls of the Cathedral were decorated with frescoes painted in 1470-1530, many of them were lost under the influence of time and destruction, in our time 220 square meters of wall paintings have been preserved. The altar of the Cathedral is unique and is a relic of not only the church, but also the state. It consists of five movable sections that can be folded together. The nave is separated from the choir by the forged Golden Gate, made by German craftsman Caspar Fink. After the Reformation of 1536, the Danish king confiscated the land of the Cathedral, the Catholic Bishop Aarhus was imprisoned, and Denmark became a Lutheran country. In subsequent years, the Cathedral was repeatedly restored and rebuilt. The Aarhus Cathedral acquired its current appearance at the beginning of the 20th century.